[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/p/ - Photography

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: 02da9ff1.jpg (69 KB, 736x920)
69 KB
69 KB JPG
I'm a bit of a beginner who's done mostly landscape and abstract photography, but I really want to get into portraitures. I've been meaning to do it for a while, but I don't know any of the basic rules, fundamentals, or philosophy behind it. I just wanted to ask if any anons here had any good tutorials to watch, specific books to read, highlight certain photos/examples, or any other resource I should check out to help me get a better understanding of portaits.
>>
>>4314348
idk, I never watched anything or read any books but from my experience shooting portraits the most helpful things have been to compliment the model and never verbalize anything negative even if it's about you and the camera. Try to talk and banter, have a good time, be friendly. Bringing a bluetooth speaker for some background noise can also help things be less awkward

Scouting locations before hand is good. The more confident you seem while on the shoot the better the models respond

You can look up posing stuff for ideas but personally none of that ever sticks in my head when I'm out on the shoot and I just treat posing someone the same way I'd construct any other frame.

idk, that's all I have
>>
https://www.instagram.com/tatsuo_suzuki_001/
>>
https://www.instagram.com/hwilliamsjrphoto/
>>
>>4314348
>I don't know any of the basic rules, fundamentals, or philosophy behind it